Reviews: Ghosts on the Red Line

UNIQUE AND ENGROSSING
By California Bookworm, posted on Amazon, 27 March 2017, Rating = 5 stars
A fascinatingly original story with intriguing characters. Immediately captivating and hard to put down. One of the best reads in a long time.
GHOSTS ON THE RED LINE
By Karin A. Joyce, posted on Amazon, 10 March 2017, Rating = 3 stars
Interesting concept to develop a visitation room where people can have more chances to see and chat with their deceased loved ones. It all developed when people made claims to be visited by ghosts on the red line train in Boston. Some visits from the spirits were not always welcome. I like the Boston setting of this story.

FAST MOVING SPIRITS IN BOSTON

By Edward Barrall, posted on Amazon, 31 January 2015, Rating = 5 stars 

Another great book by Shapiro! Character development is excellent, plot is fast moving and the end on the last page is a real zinger for anyone who is familiar with Boston crime, politica and The Church. Tomorrow will not be like yesterday with the Visitation Rooms turned on!

STUNNING

By Matthew, posted on Audible.com for audiobook version, 26 August 2014, Rating = 5 stars 

Would you listen to Ghosts on the Red Line again? Why?

Unlikely, but i was deeply moved by this book. It is truly one of the best audio books I have ever heard. Both content and performance are amazing.

What did you like best about this story?

The integrity of the scientific defence. An obtuse concept made completely believable. Amazing.

What about Paul Fleschner’s performance did you like?

He blew me away with his tone, consistency, and character development. I will look for this reader going forward.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wish I could.

Any additional comments?

I urge you to get this book. I read reviews on Audiofile magazine, and downloaded it as a direct result, and am blown away. You will be as well!

——–

A GHOST STORY FOR THE THINKING READER

By Sheila Berry, posted on Amazon, 24 August 2014, Rating = 4 stars 

I read this last year, and I’m glad to see it offered on special sale again so it will catch the attention of more readers. Ghosts, yes, but none of the silly demons, skeletons and other monsters. The plot is intriguing and does not insult the reader’s intelligence, or ask the reader to suspend common sense.

A GHOST STORY OF A DIFFERENT SORT

By AppyGirl, posted on Audible.com for audiobook version, 23 August 2014, Rating = 4 stars 

Would you consider the audio edition of Ghosts on the Red Line to be better than the print version?I did not read the print version, but plan to in the future

What did you like best about this story?

The determination of Harry and Alexandra. They just never gave up

Which character – as performed by Paul Fleschner – was your favorite?

Harry West. Out of all of the well thought out characters, his was the most human to me. I loved the way all the characters interacted and how Harry pulled everyone together to form a perfect group.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When Harry saw his daughter on the train for the first time. I can only imagine the joy he felt at seeing her, but also his grief that he didn’t get the interaction that he wanted from that first time.

Any additional comments?

Paul Fleschner does a wonderful job giving each character a unique voice and is consistent in the delivery. From the soft spoken Alexandra, to the slimy, State Representative Walter McCullif to the hard knife edge of Shiny Mikey, he gives each character mannerisms and brings them to life.

Also by AbbyGirl, posted on Amazon… 23 August 2014 .. rating = 4 stars
What would you do if you could once again talk to a deceased loved one? After listening to this, I divided this audio book into three parts- Discovering the problem (the ghost stories); Finding out what is causing the problem (and while the resolution of the ghost problem would seem logical (and they do just that, but it is minor)); and my third part, I classify as What happens if you don’t want the ghosts to go away?
The Red Line metro train in the Boston area is having a strange problem. People are seeing, touching, interacting with their loved ones that have passed away. A young boy sees the first rider interacting with something that he could not see. When he reached his stop, he reported the incident to an MBTA official. From there we get several people’s stories about meeting their deceased loved ones while on the Red Line.
After a bit, the MBTA authority gets involved and they hire a consultant, Blair West International, whose employee, Molly, was the first one to see her loved one. Harry West, co-founder of the company ends up with the task of investigating the situation. I liked Harry’s character- he is very thorough at his investigating. He is compassionate, inquisitive and oh, so human. Harry reports to Jim Cudahay, the head of the MBT. Jim just wants it to be done. Find the problem, find a solution and then give him the results so he can implement the solution. You can’t blame they guy, he is running a business and the ghosts are causing the Red Line to be jammed up all the time.
But, there are a large amount of people that want to continue to see their loved ones, Including Harry’s ex wife, Alexandra- and once Harry sees their dead daughter, him as well. Here is where the audio book got interesting. The Catholic Church vs. Spiritualists vs. the Massachusetts legislature vs. a Boston Mobster vs. a downright spunky techie crew. Sometimes I was bogged down by too much information in the descriptions, but overall was able to keep the story on track.

Paul Fleschner does a wonderful job giving each character a unique voice and is consistent in the delivery. From the soft spoken Alexandra, to the slimy, State Representative Walter McCullif to the hard knife edge of Shiny Mikey, he gives each character mannerisms and brings them to life.

—-

A GREAT GHOST STORY FOR NON-BELIEVERS

By Paul R. Scherer, posted on Amazon, 11 August 2014, Rating = 5 stars 

A very interesting take on the paranormal that doesn’t contradict the known laws of physics.

—-

GHOSTS ON RED LINE

By Anonymous, posted on BN.com (Nook), 29 July 2014, Rating = 5 stars 

Page turner as a frequent Red Line rider to South Station. Book keeps you interested and thinking could this actually happen sometime to me.

—-

AUDIOBOOK VERSION: REVIEW IN AUDIOFILE MAGAZINE, MAY 2014

Narrator Paul Fleschner beautifully captures this surprisingly moving horror novel. A growing number of riders on Boston’s Red Line subway system report seeing, talking to, and even touching their departed loved ones, including pets. Fleschner conveys the emotion, skepticism, and differing viewpoints associated with the unique situation, including a creepy and questionable psychic who is eager to get in on the action. As the sightings and publicity increase, the Boston Transit Authority becomes concerned about the company’s reputation and rider safety and hire experts to try to explain the phenomena. Fleschner’s technical and scientific explanations are compelling, keeping listeners on track and making audio the ideal vehicle to experience this uncommon story. S.G.B. © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine [Published: MAY 2014] – See more at: http://www.audiofilemagazine.com/reviews/read/91900

INTERESTING CONCEPT

By Jorge, posted on Amazon, 14 May 2014, Rating = 4 stars 

Loved the story line in the book, interesting concept, how it would affect people with other beliefs / religions. : )

—-

A GREAT PARANORMAL MYSTERY

By Book Hound, posted on Amazon, 10 October 2013, Rating = 5 stars 

I got this on a whim, since I love Boston & my husband is a train nut. Boy, am I glad I did. The author took a totally implausible premise and made a great story out of it. Good characters and believable science. I don’t want to give too much away, but trust me, you’ll love it. Except for the ending – I wanted it to go on and on!
—-

A BOOK THAT IS HARD TO PUT DOWN

By Jane Pull, posted on Amazon, 6 June 2013, Rating = 5 stars 

Because it was a book that was a little different, and well written. The characters were interesting, if a little strange.

—-

SPOOKY!

By KC, posted on Amazon, 12 April 2013, Rating = 5 Stars

I bought this for my mom for her birthday because she takes the red line every day. She really liked it. It was fun to talk about the different T stations and landmarks in Boston.

—-

By Janet Flaherty, posted on Goodreads, 8 April 2013, Rating = 5 Stars

I found “Ghosts on the Red Line” amazing. It was very intriguing! I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to read about Boston.

A WONDERFUL RIDE

By John LeGates, posted on Amazon, 24 March 2013, Rating = 5 Stars

This novel takes a wildly improbably premise and then makes it plausible enough so that you accept it while constantly trying to figure out how real it really is. It uses this tool to give a grand tour of human emotions, local politics, business structures and a wide variety of character types.
It’s a fun read and hard to put down. One colorful scene, character or plot turn succeeds another without losing a hint of coherence.

Altogether wonderful!

WOW

By Sara Sgarlat, posted on Amazon 23 February 2013, Rating = 5 Stars.

I love this detail rich story of apparitions visiting loved ones and Not so loved ones on the Red Line neath the streets of Boston and Cambridge. If you love mystery, the paranormal, and science you will love this novel. Nobody does it better than Shapiro.

TOO TECHIE

By Tenya Tallon, posted on Amazon 18 December 2013, Rating = 2 Stars.

I was expecting a ghost story. What I got was a bunch techie stuff I didn’t understand. The story picked up about 60% through.

ABRUPT ENDING!

By Debra K. Gray (“82colorado”), posted on Amazon 10 February 2013, Rating = 3 Stars.

Not a bad story at all. Unique plot, well written, well developed characters. Imagine my surprise when I turned the last page and discovered that the book had ended! I know some books have cliffhanger endings, but this wasn’t one of them. I guess I was expecting the author to ‘wrap it up’ a little better. Hence my 3 star review. Other than that, I enjoyed this book.

—-

COZY, PSYCHIC, PARANORMAL MYSTERY

By Mallory Anne-Marie Haws (Amazon Top 1000 Reviewer), posted on Amazon 24 December 2012, Rating = 5 Stars.

I reviewed an e-book copy provided by the author in exchange for my fair and impartial review.

An intriguing and comfy psychical (and psychological) mystery with a cast that includes not just individuals, but corporations (the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority-MBTA; Blair West International consultants), universities (MIT), and metropolises (Cambridge and Boston), the novel purports the premise: “What if-what if the deceased began to appear to individuals during a subway ride?” Not a wholesale “everybody sees `em,” but rather one departed appearing to one individual at a time, and only the recipient individual can “see,” touch, talk to, the gone person. That’s fine when the visitations are of lost loved ones, dearly missed and grieved; but when those include murdered witnesses appearing to a gangster, and a man dead by his own hand who accuses his brother-in-law, trouble ensues. Not to mention, that crowds upon crowds now want to ride this single line, the Red Line, in hopes of retrieving time with those they’ve lost.

Creative and original, “Ghosts on the Red Line” delves into detail about the subways, the cities, the MBTA, and showcases Harry West, co-owner and partner of Blair West International, the consultancy called in to assist the MBTA in discovering exactly what is happening, and why, and how to bring about its cessation. Readers who like their mysteries wrapped up in cozy, with sufficient intrigue to keep those pages turning, are sure to enjoy “Ghosts on the Red Line.”

—-

GETTING IN THE “SPIRIT” OF THINGS

by Leaping Literary Lurkers, on Amazon, 14 October 2012, Rating = 4 Stars.

I found this book an entertaining read that—aside from the errant problem with possessives and a couple of minor spelling errors—was refreshingly free of typos.

Since the storyline has been described by others, I will focus on the pluses and also what I perceived as some underlying themes:
1. The author did a terrific job with quick character sketches along quite a continuum.
2. Skeptical readers can relate to how far-fetched a premise the story presents which serves as the perfect foil to describe how political, religious and criminal influence can be brought to bear in affecting situational outcomes.
3. We find an unexpected forum for negotiation between warring factions including gangsters and politicians with assistance from a chocolate-chip-cookie baking psychic.
4. I appreciated the occasional gentle humor and applaud Mr. Shapiro’s creation of a fascinating, multi-level novel that is enjoyable while simultaneously teaching us something about science and human foibles.

It was really a very sweet story.

—–

HOPING TO SEE A GHOST ON THE RED LINE

by Dutch Girl, on Amazon, 29 August 2012, Rating = 5 Stars.

I highly recommend this book, which I actually found because it was advertised on my Red Line subway car. The book grabbed my attention from the first paragraphs with its unique premise that a subway commuter was encountering a deceased loved one riding on their subway car. Anyone who’s ever ridden the subway will relate to the reactions of other passengers upon observing the individual talking to whom????? The book was suspenseful, funny, and even comforting; it’s packed with authentic Cambridge-Boston locales above and below ground, has insight into the construction of this part of the subway system, and introduces you to some fascinating characters that you feel you’d like to know personally (others not so much!). The only reason to dislike the ending is because you want to read MORE. As a daily rider of the Red Line, I’m hoping to see some beloved ghosts in my subway car some day soon! Can’t wait for the prequel, Trail of Money, due out this fall/winter so I can learn more about the main character’s previous escapades–and I’m certainly hoping for many sequels.

—-

GHOSTS ON THE RED LINE

by Deb, on Amazon, 18 June 2012, Rating = 5 Stars.

wonderful unlike anything I have read before. If you are looking for something different to take your mind on a journey this is a great book. everyone has lost some one and it makes you think would I really want to go visit a room like that or not.

—-

I WANTED MORE
By Rewind, posted on Amazon 1 May 2012, Rating = 3 Stars.
This book was an easy read. and was fun (since I ride the red line every day, and live just outside of Boston). I gave it 3 stars because I liked the premise, but felt it portrayed the events in the book very unrealistically (not the spiritual events, obviously, but the actions and behaviors of the people involved). Such extraordinary events were not only not explained (other than those involved stating “they don’t know how or why” the ghosts appeared), but were treated as almost ordinary or simply an “odd” occurrence… The book could have been doubled in length with everything greatly expanded upon… That said, it was clever and an interesting way to pass a few hours on the T!
—-

LOOKING FOR SEQUELS
By Sindi, on Amazon, 23 February 2012, Rating = 4 Stars.

I really enjoyed this book and I am hoping there will be SEQUELS. Yes – more than one. Considering the subject of this book, an endless number of ‘stories within the story’ could actually be created. My reason for giving it only four stars is because I did not like the ending – at all. It seemed as though the author just got tired of writing and quit. I tapped my Kindle not believing that was the end, but it was! However, I would recommend this book to everyone that loves a good ghost story. Usually I do not read during the day, but with this book I did because it is one of those good ones that you hate to put down. So, please write more! Loved it! Except the ending.

—-

EXCELLENT BOOK – YOU MUST CHECK IT OUT!

by Stephabarry, on Barnes&Noble.com, 1 January 2012

I really enjoyed this book being from Boston, but it is great for anyone even if you have never have ridden the infamous Red Line!!!!!

A GOOD COMPELLING READ

By Veeb, on Amazon, 30 December 2011, Rating = 4 Stars.

A great story with surprising twists and turns. Extra fun to read if you’ve ever lived in the Boston area or worked as a consultant. The details and descriptions are spot-on. Reads like a good mystery novel.

SOUNDS INTERESTING

 by Anonymous Red Line rider, Comment on website, 11 December 2011

Today while I was on my daily trips with my friends on our path to shenanigans, we couldn’t help but notice your poster. Not only are we into the paranormal, we are also into Boston related things! Coming from a teen, who doesn’t read unless assigned, I would actually pick this up on amazon. I also ride the red line daily. I am not sure if this is fiction or not though. Would be interesting if it is true! There are ghosts everywhere around us. We never know.

—-

UNFORTUNATE

by Dave Bradley, Comment on website, 30 November 2011

I find it very unfortunate that someone would write such a compelling storyline and then feel the need to attack the Catholic Church and Christian believers in such a way as trying to make them sound backwards, superstitious and ignorant. That ruined an otherwise wonderful book for me.

Because of the author’s need to put down the Church in such a fashion, I will not be reading further books written by him.